Menu Close

About Steyning & District Business Chamber

What We Do


We currently represent the interests of over 60 member businesses, and welcome new members to join so that we can speak with greater authority, and represent an even larger proportion of the business community in Steyning and surrounding areas.

We plan to increase the number of events available for members in the coming year and there should be something of interest to everyone no matter what their business is.

As business people in the area we all have common interests – the prosperity of our businesses, employees and families and the area in general. These are challenging times and ensuring that business is successful in the district is paramount and should ultimately be of benefit to all.

The Chamber is well recognised and this gives us the ability to speak up and to make a difference where it counts. We work in conjunction with a number of local groups, such as the Steyning and District Community Partnership, and we interact with local government bodies to ensure that the voice of businesses in the area are heard.

The Committee


The Chamber Executive Committee is a democratically elected group of volunteers. Elections take place every year at the Chamber AGM which is generally held in March.

Representatives from the Chamber meet regularly with various groups and local government bodies to discuss any issues of interest to Chamber members.

We want to expand the catchment area of the Chamber to encompass more businesses and to encourage more ‘off High Street’ businesses to join the Chamber by offering opportunities such as networking events (see membership benefits).

It is important that as the Chamber continues to grow that more people with fresh ideas come on to the Committee. If you can spare some time please get in touch and come along to a Committee meeting and see how you can play a part, even a small one, in the Chambers’ future.

The Chamber Committee 2021-22

Chair –Russell Barnes – Refine and Resolve Architects LTD

Vice Chair – Dean Haysom – Compass Mortgages

Secretary – Katherine Lawrie – Katherine Lawrie Jewellery

Membership secretary – Sarah Brown – Raft Furniture Steyning

Treasurer – Anton van Baalen – Right at Home Worthing and Shoreham

Executive Committee Members

Sara Bowers – Steyning Bookshop

Justin Brown – Raft Furniture Steyning

Julie Belton – Beltons Public Accountants Ltd

Beverly Reece – Pink Spaghetti Worthing

Lou Crush – Steyning Farmer’s Market (Not Daylands)

Rebecca Louis – Mayo Wynne Baxter Storrington

Hannah Ryan – Hannah Ryan Book keeper

Keith Kempton – Riverside Brewery

Darren Nash – House 56